Conference of Accountants - The University of Tulsa

Conference of Accountants

May 17-19, 2023

May 17 – In-person mixer at the Student Union

May 18-19 – Virtual Conference presented by Collins College of Business

Celebrating 76 Years! 

The Conference of Accountants evolved from a series of annual meetings beginning in 1947 by Professor Emeritus Paul J. Graber. The Collins College of Business at The University of Tulsa acts as host providing event management and facilities (as appropriate) for the event. Since 1950, the conference has been directed by a planning committee composed of representatives of the co-sponsoring professional organizations and by members of TU’s School of Accounting and Computer Information Systems. An advisory board, made up of area accounting professionals, provides counsel and assistance. Contact Brett Yeakey for more information.

Each conference typically includes speakers drawn from organizations that impact accounting policy, including:

  • Securities and Exchange Commission
  • Federal Reserve Bank
  • Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
  • Financial Accounting Standards Board
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Institute of Management Accountants
  • Tax Executives Institute
  • Certified Fraud Examiners
  • Institute of Internal Auditors

Accounting speakers have also been provided by national and regional accounting firms such as PricewaterhouseCoopers, Ernst & Young, KPMG, Deloitte and Grant Thornton.

Leaders in the business community, representing both local and national companies have participated in our conference as keynote speakers. Past participants from the political arena have included the lieutenant governor, state treasurer, Tulsa mayor and state attorney general.

Many of our speakers have been recommended or provided by our planning committee members who represent the following sponsoring organizations for the conference:

  • Association of Certified Fraud Examiners
  • Financial Executives Institute
  • The Institute of Internal Auditors
  • Institute of Management Accountants
  • Tulsa Chapter, Oklahoma Society of CPAs
  • Tax Executives Institute

Proceeds from the conference are used to provide scholastic awards to promising undergraduate and graduate accounting students. Since 2004, the conference has awarded almost $330,000. Additionally, our attendees can earn up to 15 hours (planned) of CPE for CPA or other certification continuing education requirements. Please check back for CPE updates.

Program Knowledge Level: Basic | Prerequisites: None | Advance Preparation: None

Contact Us

215 Helmerich Hall
The University of Tulsa
800 S. Tucker Drive
Tulsa, OK 74104

  • Registration & CPE Information


    *Full-session early bird: $325
    Full-session regular: $375
    *One-day early bird: $162.50
    One-day regular: $187.50

    *Early bird registration ends April 15 at 11:59 p.m.

    Register Now

    CPE information

    To receive CPE credits, participants must verify that their names are clearly represented in the chat for each session and answer three participation questions per session. In addition, the “raise hand” feature may be used during sessions to record participation.

    If attending all sessions, participants will earn 15 CPE credits (planned). Check back for updates.

    Prerequisites: None
    Advanced Preparation: None
    Program Level: Basic
    Delivery Method: Group Internet Based Program (Virtual delivery)

    Conference of Accountants hosted by The University of Tulsa is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website:


    For questions regarding the program or registration, please contact Brett Yeakey.

  • Agenda

    2023 Speaker List

    Thursday, May 18

    8:30 a.m. – Federal Tax Update with Pete Stonis and Andrea Anderson, GT Tulsa

    9:30 a.m. – Department of Commerce Update with Brent Kisling, OK Dept of Commerce

    10:30 a.m. – Non-fraud Forensic Accounting with Leah Wietholter, Workman Forensics

    11:30 a.m. – PCOAB Priorities with Debbie Witte, PCAOB

    12:30 p.m. – LUNCH BREAK

    1:30 p.m. – Risk and fraud analytics, the related barriers and solutions, and why analytics need user feedback loops to power machine learning with David Osborn and Sam Gallaher, ThirdLine

    2:30 p.m. – Fraud with Jason Zirkle, ACFE

    4:00 p.m. – SEC/Climate Change Proposal with Brian Tomlinson, EY

    4:50 p.m. – ADJOURN

    Friday, May 19

    8:30 a.m. – Leadership with Tracy Spears, Exceptional Leaders Lab

    10:00 a.m. – FASB Update with Lucy Cheng, FASB

    11:00 a.m. – Diversity and Inclusion with Mikeale Campbell, Williams

    11:50 a.m. – LUNCH BREAK

    12:30 p.m. – Ethics with Amanda Jo Erven, A.C.E.

    1:30 p.m. – Supply Chain Resiliency with Jeff Dehart, CBIZ

    2:30 p.m. – ESG (Environment, Social, Governance) with Pan John Porter, Williams;
    Chuck Chang, PwC; Will Gray, Atento Capital

    3:30 p.m. – ADJOURN

  • Refund and Program Cancellation Policies

    Refund Policy

    If registration is canceled by May 5, 2023, a refund will be granted but subject to a $25 cancellation fee. Registrant will receive full refund minus $25 service fee. No refunds granted after May 6. Substitutions are permitted.

    For information regarding administrative policies or concerns, cancellations, registration substitutions and other inquiries, please contact Brett Yeakey at or 918-631-2398.

    Program Cancellation Policy

    If the conference or any part of the conference is canceled, all registrants will be notified via email. If there is a speaker or program cancellation or substitution, the conference organizers will notify registrants by email, as well as the conference website.